The leaf is one of the 3 basic organs of cormophytes. A foliage-leaf is inserted at the stem and mainly serves photosynthesis. However, in some species foliage leaves have adopted further tasks. Depending on their location at the stem and its function, a multitude of different leaf types may be distinguished: cotyledon, eophyll, subsequent leaf, foliage-leaf, cataphyll, bud-scale, bract, perianth-leaf, tepal, sepal, petal, nectar producing leaf, stamen, carpel, supporting-leaf, bract, prophyll and others.